Classic Rock News

Deluxe editions of Black Sabbath's '80s Ronnie James Dio albums due out in March

Warner Records/Rhino

Expanded versions of Black Sabbath‘s two Ronnie James Dio-fronted albums from the ’80s will be released on March 5.

Heaven and Hell: Deluxe Edition and Mob Rules: Deluxe Edition both include the original albums remastered, along with a host of bonus material including previously unreleased live recordings, B-sides, and alternate edits and mixes.

For a preview, live versions of each of the records’ respective title tracks are available now via digital outlets.

Black Sabbath released the original Heaven and Hell and Mob Rules in 1980 and 1981, respectively. They were the band’s first two album with Dio on vocals in place of original frontman Ozzy Osbourne, who was fired from Sabbath in 1979.

Dio left the group in 1982 and formed his namesake band, Dio. He would return to Sabbath in the ’90s to record 1992’s Dehumanizer, and fronted the band Heaven & Hell with Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler from 2006 until his death in 2010.

Here are the deluxe Heaven and Hell and Mob Rules track lists:

Heaven and Hell: Deluxe Edition
Disc One: Original Album (2021 Remaster)
“Neon Knights”
“Children of the Sea”
“Lady Evil”
“Heaven and Hell”
“Wishing Well”
“Die Young”
“Walk Away”
“Lonely Is the Word”

Disc Two: Bonus Tracks
“Children of the Sea” (Live B-side of “Neon Knights”)*
“Heaven and Hell” (Live B-side of “Die Young”)*
“Lady Evil” (7″ Mono Edit, unreleased on CD)

Hartford Civic Center, Hartford, CT (8/10/1980)
“Neon Knights”*
“Children of the Sea”*
“Heaven and Hell”*
“Die Young”*

Hammersmith Odeon, London (12/31/1981-1/2/1982)
“Neon Knights”
“Children of the Sea”
“Heaven and Hell”

Mob Rules: Deluxe Edition
Disc One: Original Album (2021 Remaster)
“Turn Up the Night”
“The Sign of the Southern Cross”
“The Mob Rules”
“Country Girl”
“Slipping Away”
“Falling Off the Edge of the World”
“Over and Over”

Bonus Tracks
“The Mob Rules” (Heavy Metal Soundtrack Version)
“Die Young” (Live B-side of “Mob Rules” 7″)*
“The Mob Rules” (New 2021 Mix)**

Live at the Hammersmith Odeon London (12/31/1981-1/2/1982)
“Country Girl”
“Slipping Away”
“The Mob Rules”

Live at Portland Memorial Coliseum, Portland, OR (4/22/1982)
“Neon Knights”**

Disc Two: Bonus Tracks — Live at Portland Memorial Coliseum, Portland, OR (4/22/82)
“Children of the Sea”**
“Black Sabbath”**
“War Pigs”**
Drum Solo**
“Iron Man”**
“The Mob Rules”**
“Heaven and Hell”**
Guitar Solo **
“Sign of the Southern Cross/Heaven and Hell” (Reprise)**
“Children of the Grave”**

* = previously unreleased in North America.
** = previously unreleased.

By Josh Johnson and Matt Friedlander
Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.