Classic Rock News

Ex-Judas Priest guitarist K.K. Downing’s new band, KK’s Priest, releases debut single, “Hellfire Thunderbolt”

EX1 Records

Last year, former Judas Priest guitarist K.K. Downing announced that he’d launched a new band called KK’s Priest, and now the legendary heavy-metal musician and his group have unleashed their first single and unveiled plans for their debut album.

The song, a blistering metal track called “Hellfire Thunderbolt,” is available now digitally and via streaming services, while a companion music video has debuted at KK’s Priest’s official YouTube channel. The tune is one of 10 tracks that will be featured on the band’s first album, Sermons of the Sinner, which will be released on August 20.

Downing notes that the “sinner” mentioned in the upcoming album’s title is a reference to the famous solo he played in the memorable Judas Priest song of the same name, while also reflecting the alienation he feels with regard to his former group.

“The whole concept is the fact that I continue proudly to be who I am and what I am and do what I do,” explains Downing, who played with Judas Priest from 1970 to 2011. “It’s been nearly 10 years. I’m back making music.”

KK’s Priest also features former Judas Priest singer Tim “Ripper” Owens, Voodoo Six bassist Tony Newton and Hostile guitarist A.J. Mills. The band’s originally announced lineup also included ex-Judas Priest drummer Les Binks, but after he suffered a wrist injury, he was replaced by Sean Elg of DeathRiders and Cage.

Sermons of the Sinner can be pre-ordered now, and will be available on CD, digitally and as a vinyl LP packaged with a bonus CD.

KK’s Priest has plans to start touring later this year, and Binks is tentatively expected to make some guest appearances at some of the shows.

Here’s the full Sermons of the Sinner track list:

“Hellfire Thunderbolt”
“Sermons of the Sinner”
“Sacerdote y Diablo”
“Raise Your Fists”
“Brothers of the Road”
“Metal Through and Through”
“Wild and Free”
“Hail for the Priest”
“Return of the Sentinel”

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.