Classic Rock News

The Smashing Pumpkins detail new double album, 'CYR'

Sumerian Records

The Smashing Pumpkins have announced a new double album titled CYR, due out on November 27.

The effort spans 20 songs, two of which have already been released: the title track, and opener “The Colour of Love.”

CYR is the follow-up to 2018’s Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1/LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun., which marked the first release from the Pumpkins in nearly 20 years to feature founding members Billy Corgan, James Iha and Jimmy Chamberlin.

Along with CYR, the alt-rock veterans are launching an animated web series based on the album. The five-part project, titled In Ashes, was created and written by Corgan, and features songs from CYR. The first two episodes premiere next Friday, September 25.

Here’s the CYR track list:

“The Colour of Love”
“Confessions of a Dopamine Addict”
“Dulcet in E”
“Anno Santana”
“Birch Grove”
“Purple Blood”
“Save Your Tears”
“Black Forest, Black Hills”
“The Hidden Sun”
“Tyger, Tyger”

By Josh Johnson
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.